Day 2 is in the books at the AMCC Swimming and Diving Championship, and Penn St. Behrend holds the lead for both the women and men.

The Behrend women nosed out Cabrini College for the top spot, 208 points to 206, through 13 events. Alfred St. College is in third place with a score of 191, while Franciscan University holds fourth place (76), Pitt-Bradford is fifth (71) and Penn State Altoona sixth (59).

The evening session started with a bang as the 200 freestyle relay team from Behrend (Maryn Horn, Paola Maldonado, Devon Van Rensburg, Jessica Wyckoff) broke the AMCC meet, conference and team record with a time of 1:39.80. For the third straight year, Horn won the 50 freestyle while teammate Gwendolyn Lowery was first in the 200 IM. The final event of the night, the 400 medley relay, saw the Lions earned their fourth win (Horn, Van Rensburg, Lowery and Wyckoff).

Cabrini sophomore Lauren Finnegan broke the Lions' string of gold by touching first in the 500 free (5:23.20) while Alfred State sophomore Sarah Stephens won the 1 meter diving event.

The Behrend men took a commanding lead with 285 points through two days of competition. Cabrini is second with 152 points, followed by Pitt-Bradford (147) for third. Alfred State is in fourth (110) and Penn State Altoona is fifth (65).

Pitt-Bradford opened with a victory in the 200 freestyle relay as Jared Schwab, Corey Koss, Nick Boyd and Benjamin Koss combined for a time of 1:26.17.  Schwab and Ben Koss also went 1-2 in the 50 free.

Cabrini sophomore Matt Schaeffer had the fastest time in the 200 IM, posting a 1:58.43.

Behrend junior Mark Patterson set four records on the way to repeating as champion in the 500 free. He touched in a time of 4:38.60 to break the team, pool, AMCC meet and conference record.  The last event of the session, the 400 medley relay, was also won by the Lions, as Patterson joined forces with Noah Babik, Steven Owens and Alex Croll for a pool record 3:30.21.

Click here for complete results.

Action resumes Friday with preliminaries at 10am and finals at 6pm.